Disney/ABC Television Group Takes Home 19 Emmys, Including Six for ‘Modern Family’

ABC Network’s critically acclaimed freshman hit comedy series, “Modern Family,” swept more categories than any other series with three wins, including the top comedy series prize, at the 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards, presented last night. In addition to winning for Outstanding Comedy Series, “Modern Family’s” Eric Stonestreet captured his first-ever Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series and executive producers Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd took the Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series prize for the pilot episode.

“Modern Family” won a total of six Emmys, with the other three awards for Casting, Sound Mixing and Picture Editing announced at the Creative Arts Emmys on Aug. 21.

With the combination of wins at the Primetime ceremony and the Creative Arts Emmy Awards, Disney/ABC Television Group won a total of 19 awards, with ABC leading all broadcast networks with a total of 18 wins.

ABC’s “Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution” series captured a first-time win for Reality Program, and Walt Disney Animation Studios and ABC were big winners in the animation category at the Creative Emmy Awards announced on August 21, as their holiday special “Disney Prep & Landing” took home four Emmys, the most for any broadcast program, including one for Outstanding Animated Program. Individual Achievement Emmy Awards were also presented for storyboard artist Joe Mateo, art director Andy Harkness and background key designer William M. George III. “Disney Prep & Landing” is ABC’s first television special produced by Walt Disney Animation Studios.

Producers from Disney Channel’s “Wizards of Waverly Place The Movie” won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Children’s Series at the Creative Arts Emmys.

Additional winners announced at the Creative ceremony include: Outstanding Makeup for a Single-Camera Series (Non-Prosthetic) for “Grey’s Anatomy”; Outstanding Costumes for a Variety/Music Program or a Special for “Jimmy Kimmel Live”; Outstanding Hairstyling for a Multi-Camera Series or a Special for “Dancing with the Stars”; Outstanding Art Direction for a Variety, Music or Nonfiction

Programming for the “82nd Annual Academy Awards”; Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Drama Series for “Lost”; Outstanding Stunt Coordination for “FlashForward” and Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Series for “Dancing with the Stars.”

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.