‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ Deluxe, Mix Soundtracks Details Announced

'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deluxe SoundtrackMarvel and Hollywood Records have announced three editions of the official original motion picture soundtrack to Guardians of the Galaxy (August 1, 2014) available on July 29, 2014: ‘The Guardians of the Galaxy Deluxe’ soundtrack features classic 1970s songs from the film plus the score by composer Tyler Bates ; ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1′ is the collection of 12 songs including Blue Swede’s ‘Hooked on a Feeling,’ ‘I’m Not in Love’ by 10cc, Redbone’s ‘Come and Get Your Love,’ and The Runaways’ ‘Cherry Bomb;’ and Guardians of the Galaxy digital score soundtrack. The soundtrack is currently available for pre-order from Amazon.

According to director James Gunn, the tunes from the 1970s are an integral part of the movie: ‘One of the main story points in the movie is that Quill has this compilation tape [Awesome Mix #1] that he got from his mother before she died that she made for him. It was of songs that she loved, all songs from the 1970s, and that’s the only thing he has left of his mother and that’s the only thing he has left of his home on Earth. He uses that as a connection to his past and to the sadness that he feels of having left all that and lost all that.’

From Marvel, the studio that brought you the global blockbuster franchises of Iron Man, Thor, Captain America and The Avengers, comes a new team — the Guardians of the Galaxy. An action-packed, epic space adventure, Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy expands the Marvel Cinematic Universe into the cosmos, where brash adventurer Peter Quill finds himself the object of an unrelenting bounty hunt after stealing a mysterious orb coveted by Ronan, a powerful villain with ambitions that threaten the entire universe. To evade the ever-persistent Ronan, Quill is forced into an uneasy truce with a quartet of disparate misfits — Rocket, a gun-toting raccoon, Groot, a tree-like humanoid, the deadly and enigmatic Gamora and the revenge-driven Drax the Destroyer. But when Quill discovers the true power of the orb and the menace it poses to the cosmos, he must do his best to rally his ragtag rivals for a last, desperate stand — with the galaxy’s fate in the balance.

‘Awesome Mix Tape, Vol. 1’ track list is as follows:

1) ‘Hooked on a Feeling’ Performed by Blue Swede
2) ‘Go All the Way’ Performed by Raspberries
3) ‘Spirit in the Sky’ Performed by Norman Greenbaum (* not in film)
4) ‘Moonage Daydream’ Performed by David Bowie
5) ‘Fooled Around and Fell in Love’ Performed by Elvin Bishop
6) ‘I’m Not in Love’ Performed by 10cc
7) ‘I Want You Back’ Performed by Jackson 5
8) ‘Come and Get Your Love’ Performed by Redbone
9) ‘Cherry Bomb’ Performed by The Runaways
10) ‘Escape (The Piña Colada Song)’ Performed by Rupert Holmes
11) ‘O-O-H Child’ Performed by The Five Stairsteps
12) ‘Ain’t No Mountain High Enough’ Performed by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell


Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.