‘Saving Mr. Banks’ Soundtrack to Feature Demos from ‘Mary Poppins’ (Track List)

'Saving Mr. Banks' Original Motion Picture SoundtrackThanks to a pre-order listing on iTunes, we now have the complete track list for the double-album original motion picture soundtrack to Disney’s Saving Mr. Banks as composed by Thomas Newman (also available via  Amazon). The soundtrack is scheduled to be released on December 10, 2013, just ahead of the film’s limited release on December 13, followed by its wide release on December 20, 2013.

When Walt Disney’s daughters begged him to make a movie of their favorite book, P.L. Travers’ Mary Poppins, he made them a promise — one that he didn’t realize would take 20 years to keep. In his quest to obtain the rights, Walt comes up against a curmudgeonly, uncompromising writer who has absolutely no intention of letting her beloved magical nanny get mauled by the Hollywood machine. But, as the books stop selling and money grows short, Travers reluctantly agrees to go to Los Angeles to hear Disney’s plans for the adaptation.

For those two short weeks in 1961, Walt Disney pulls out all the stops. Armed with imaginative storyboards and chirpy songs from the talented Sherman brothers, Walt launches an all-out onslaught on P.L. Travers, but the prickly author doesn’t budge. He soon begins to watch helplessly as Travers becomes increasingly immovable and the rights begin to move further away from his grasp.

It is only when he reaches into his own childhood that Walt discovers the truth about the ghosts that haunt her, and together they set Mary Poppins free to ultimately make one of the most endearing films in cinematic history.

1) Chim Chim Cher-ee (East Wind) (1:04) – Colin Farrell
2) Travers Goff (Score) (2:06)
3) Walking Bus (Score) (2:10)
4) One Mint Julep (1:31) – Ray Charles
5) Uncle Albert (Score) (1:34)
6) Jollification (Score) (1:18)
7) The Mouse (Score) (0:57)
8) Leisurely Stroll (Score) (1:34)
9) Chim Chim Cher-ee (Responstible) (0:26) – Emma Thompson, B.J. Novak & Jason Schwartzman
10) Mr. Disney (Score) (0:35)
11) Celtic Soul (Score) (1:20)
12) A Foul Fowl (Score) (2:04)
13) Mrs. P. L. Travers (Score) (1:16)
14) Laying Eggs (Score) (1:08)
15) Worn to Tissue (Score) (0:54)
16) Heigh-Ho (2:11) – The Dave Brubeck Quartet
17) Whiskey (Score) (1:21)
18) Impertinent Man (Score) (0:38)
19) To My Mother (Score) (3:44)
20) Westerly Weather (Score) (1:56)
21) Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (0:05) – Emma Thompson, B.J. Novak & Jason Schwartzman
22) Spit Spot! (Score) (1:49)
23) Beverly Hills Hotel (Score) (0:38)
24) Penguins (Score) (1:18)
25) Pears (Score) (0:55)
26) Let’s Go Fly a Kite (1:55) – Bradley Whitford, Emma Thompson, B.J. Novak, Jason Schwartzman & Melanie Lawson
27) Maypole (Score) (0:59)
28) Forgiveness (Score) (2:00)
29) The Magic Kingdom (Score) (1:05)
30) Ginty My Love (Score) (3:12)
31) Saving Mr. Banks (End Title) (Score) (2:12)

1) The Pearly Song (Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious) (Demo) (1:30) – Richard M. Sherman & Robert B. Sherman
2) Chim Chim Cher-ee (Demo) (2:39) – Richard M. Sherman & Robert B. Sherman
3) Tuppence a Bag (Feed the Birds [Tuppence a Bag]) (Demo) (2:55) – Richard M. Sherman & Robert B. Sherman
4) Let’s Go Fly a Kite (Demo) (1:44) – Richard M. Sherman
5) A Spoonful of Sugar (4:07) – Julie Andrews
6) Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (2:02) – Julie Andrews & Dick Van Dyke
7) Chim Chim Cher-ee (2:46) – Julie Andrews, Dick Van Dyke, Karen Dotrice & Matthew Garber
8) Feed the Birds (Tuppence a Bag) (3:50) – Julie Andrews
9) Let’s Go Fly a Kite (1:48) – David Tomlinson, Dick Van Dyke & The Londoners

Saving Mr. Banks stars Emma Thompson, Tom Hanks, Colin Farrell, Paul Giamatti, Jason Schwartzman, Bradley Whitford, Annie Rose Buckley, Ruth Wilson, B.J. Novak, Rachel Griffiths and Kathy Baker. It will received a limited theatrical release on December 13 and be expanded to a wide release on December 20, 2013.

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.