‘Toy Story 3,’ ‘Alice’ Lead Oscar Nominations for Walt Disney Studios

The nominations for the 83rd Academy Awards were announced earlier today by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Tom Sherak and 2009 Oscar® winner Mo’Nique. When all is said and done, Walt Disney Studios racked up a total of thirteen nominations, the bulk of which were divided by Disney/Pixar’s Toy Story 3 and Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.

Toy Story 3 definitely took the more significant categories however, nominated for both Best Animated Feature Film (Lee Unkrich) and Best Picture (Darla Anderson). The critic and fan favorite was also nominated for Best Adapted Screenplay (Michael Arndt with story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich) and Achievement in Sound Editing (Tom Myers and Michael Silvers) in which it competes against fellow Disney film TRON: Legacy (Gwendolyn Yates Whittle and Addison Teague). Toy Story 3 also received a nomination for Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures (Original Song) for Randy Newman’s We Belong Together where it competes against Tangled‘s sole nomination, I See the Light by Alan Menken and Glenn Slater.

The accompanying Disney/Pixar short Day & Night, by Teddy Newton, received a nod for Best Animated Short.

Alice in Wonderland received nominations primarily for its visual elements in categories Achievement in Costume Design (Colleen Atwood), Art Direction (Robert Stromberg – Production Design and Karen O’Hara – Set Decoration) and Achievement in Visual Effects (Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas and Sean Phillips) in which it will compete against Disney/Marvel’s Iron Man 2 (Janek Sirrs, Ben Snow, Ged Wright and Daniel Sudick).

Julie Taymor’s take on The Tempest was also nominated in the category for Achievement in Costume Design (Sandy Powell).

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


2 thoughts on “‘Toy Story 3,’ ‘Alice’ Lead Oscar Nominations for Walt Disney Studios

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.