Location:  Home :: Books :: How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form    
Categories
Auto Accessories
Baby
Clothing
Cosmetics
Books
Electronics
Household
Jewelry
Books (Kindle)
Kitchen
Music (MP3)
Music
Music Instruments
School
Outdoors
Pets
Cameras
Sports
Toys
Movies
Movies (VOD)
Video Games
Watches
'Tangled'
Phineas and Ferb
'Tron Legacy'
Epic Mickey
Home and Garden
Subcategories
Movements & Periods
Ancient & Classical
Arthurian Romance
Beat Generation
Feminist
Gothic & Romantic
LGBT
Medieval
Modernism
Postmodernism
Renaissance
Shakespeare
Surrealism
Victorian
Literature
American Literature
Creative Writing & Composition
English Literature
Literary Theory
World Literature

How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary FormAuthor: Thomas C. Foster
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Category: Book

List Price: $15.99
Buy New: $6.81
as of 10/24/2014 05:37 EDT details
You Save: $9.18 (57%)

New (46) Used (107) from $0.01

Seller: kozybooks85
Sales Rank: 29,492

Languages: English (Unknown), English (Original Language), English (Published)
Media: Paperback
Edition: (NEWEST EDITION 2014, RED COVER)
Pages: 336
Number Of Items: 1
Shipping Weight (lbs): 0.6
Dimensions (in): 7.9 x 5.3 x 0.9

ISBN: 0061340405
EAN: 9780061340406
ASIN: 0061340405

Publication Date: July 1, 2008
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Tell A Friend
Add to Wishlist
Add to Wedding Registry
Add to Baby Registry

Features:
  • (NEWEST EDITION 2014, RED COVER)

Also Available In:

  • Paperback - How to Read Novels Like a Professor 1st (first) edition Text Only
  • Paperback - How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form
  • Kindle Edition - How to Read Novels Like a Professor

Similar Items:


Editorial Reviews:

Product Description

Of all the literary forms, the novel is arguably the most discussed . . . and fretted over. From Miguel de Cervantes's Don Quixote to the works of Jane Austen, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, and today's masters, the novel has grown with and adapted to changing societies and technologies, mixing tradition and innovation in every age throughout history.

Thomas C. Foster—the sage and scholar who ingeniously led readers through the fascinating symbolic codes of great literature in his first book, How to Read Literature Like a Professor—now examines the grammar of the popular novel. Exploring how authors' choices about structure—point of view, narrative voice, first page, chapter construction, character emblems, and narrative (dis)continuity—create meaning and a special literary language, How to Read Novels Like a Professor shares the keys to this language with readers who want to get more insight, more understanding, and more pleasure from their reading.




CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.