Location:  Home :: Books :: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable Books for Adults)    
Categories
Auto Accessories
Baby
Clothing
Cosmetics
Books
Electronics
Household
Jewelry
Books (Kindle)
Kitchen
Music (MP3)
Music
Music Instruments
School
Outdoors
Pets
Cameras
Sports
Toys
Movies
Movies (VOD)
Video Games
Watches
'Tangled'
Phineas and Ferb
'Tron Legacy'
Epic Mickey
Home and Garden

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable Books for Adults)

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Ala Notable Books for Adults)

Other Views:
Author: Daniel James Brown
Brand: Brand: Viking Adult
Category: Book

List Price: $28.95
Buy New: $13.36
as of 11/24/2014 19:56 EST details
You Save: $15.59 (54%)

New (48) Used (36) from $9.02

Seller: TOTAL BOOKS
Sales Rank: 500

Languages: English (Unknown), English (Original Language), English (Published)
Media: Hardcover
Edition: First Edition
Pages: 416
Number Of Items: 1
Shipping Weight (lbs): 1.4
Dimensions (in): 6.3 x 1.3 x 9.4

ISBN: 067002581X
EAN: 9780670025817
ASIN: 067002581X

Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Tell A Friend
Add to Wishlist
Add to Wedding Registry
Add to Baby Registry

Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Also Available In:

  • Paperback - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Paperback - The Boys in the Boat
  • Kindle Edition - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Audio CD - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Hardcover - The Boys in the Boat by Brown. Daniel James ( 2013 ) Hardcover
  • Paperback - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Paperback - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Audible Audio Edition - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Library Binding - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Paperback - The Boys in the Boat
  • Hardcover - By Daniel James Brown - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (5.5.2013)
  • Hardcover - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
  • Hardcover - The Boys in the Boat
  • Hardcover - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Similar Items:


Editorial Reviews:

Product Description
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled  by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.




Amazon.com Review

Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat is the kind of nonfiction book that reads like a novel. Centered around the life of Joe Rantz—a farmboy from the Pacific Northwest who was literally abandoned as a child—and set during the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is a character-driven story with a natural crescendo that will have you racing to the finish. In 1936, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team raced its way to the Berlin Olympics for an opportunity to challenge the greatest in the world. How this team, largely composed of rowers from “foggy coastal villages, damp dairy farms, and smoky lumber towns all over the state,” managed to work together and sacrifice toward their goal of defeating Hitler’s feared racers is half the story. The other half is equally fascinating, as Brown seamlessly weaves in the story of crew itself. This is fast-paced and emotional nonfiction about determination, bonds built by teamwork, and what it takes to achieve glory. —Chris Schluep




CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.