Location:  Home :: Books :: Cloud Atlas    
Categories
Auto Accessories
Baby
Clothing
Cosmetics
Books
Electronics
Household
Jewelry
Books (Kindle)
Kitchen
Music (MP3)
Music
Music Instruments
School
Outdoors
Pets
Cameras
Sports
Toys
Movies
Movies (VOD)
Video Games
Watches
'Tangled'
Phineas and Ferb
'Tron Legacy'
Epic Mickey
Home and Garden
Subcategories
Historical
African American
Alternate History
Biographical
Christian
Cultural Heritage
Fantasy
Jewish
Military
Mysteries
Thrillers

Cloud Atlas

Cloud AtlasAuthor: David Mitchell
Publisher: Vintage Canada
Category: Book

List Price: $34.95
Buy New: $19.89
as of 9/20/2014 22:13 EDT details
You Save: $15.06 (43%)

New (8) Used (18) Collectible (1) from $6.39

Seller: Media Excellence
Sales Rank: 1,881,309

Format: International Edition
Languages: English (Unknown), English (Original Language), English (Published)
Media: Paperback
Pages: 528
Number Of Items: 1
Shipping Weight (lbs): 0.9
Dimensions (in): 8.5 x 5.5 x 1.3

ISBN: 0676974945
EAN: 9780676974942
ASIN: 0676974945

Publication Date: August 2004
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Tell A Friend
Add to Wishlist
Add to Wedding Registry
Add to Baby Registry

Also Available In:

  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas [Cloud Atlas] David Mitchell (Cloud Atlas)
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel [Paperback] [2004] (Author) David Mitchell
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Audible Audio Edition - Cloud Atlas
  • Hardcover - Cloud Atlas: A Novel (Modern Library) [Hardcover] [2012] (Author) David Mitchell
  • Audio Cassette - Cloud Atlas
  • Hardcover - Cloud Atlas Signed
  • Unknown Binding - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel 1st (first) Edition by Mitchell, David published by Random House Trade Paperbacks (2004) Paperback
  • Hardcover - Cloud Atlas: A Novel (Modern Library) by Mitchell, David (2012) Hardcover
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel by Mitchell, David (2004) Paperback
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas (Movie Tie-in Edition): A Novel
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - a novel:Cloud Atlas byMitchell(paperback)(2004)
  • Audible Audio Edition - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas : A Novel
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas (Flipback)
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel
  • Paperback - a novel:Cloud Atlas 8th (Eighth) Edition byMitchell(paperback)(2004)
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas - A-Format India Edition
  • Hardcover - Cloud Atlas: A Novel (Modern Library)
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Hardcover - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas: A Novel
  • Audio CD - Cloud Atlas
  • Audio Cassette - Cloud Atlas Audio
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas
  • Paperback - Cloud Atlas [Deckle Edge] 8th (eighth) edition Text Only
  • Audio CD - Cloud Atlas
  • Library Binding - Cloud Atlas (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
  • Kindle Edition - Cloud Atlas: A Novel

Similar Items:


Editorial Reviews:

Product Description
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas
 
“[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”The New York Times Book Review
 
“One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers
 
“Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”People
 
“The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon
 
Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”The Washington Post Book World
 
“Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”Boston Sunday Globe
 
“Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”Los Angeles Times


From the Hardcover edition.



CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.