Location:  Home :: Books :: Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II    
Categories
Auto Accessories
Baby
Clothing
Cosmetics
Books
Electronics
Household
Jewelry
Books (Kindle)
Kitchen
Music (MP3)
Music
Music Instruments
School
Outdoors
Pets
Cameras
Sports
Toys
Movies
Movies (VOD)
Video Games
Watches
'Tangled'
Phineas and Ferb
'Tron Legacy'
Epic Mickey
Home and Garden
Subcategories
Arts & Photography
Biographies & Memoirs
Business & Money
Calendars
Children's Books
Christian Books & Bibles
Comics & Graphic Novels
Computers & Technology
Cookbooks, Food & Wine
Crafts, Hobbies & Home
Education & Teaching
Engineering & Transportation
Gay & Lesbian
Health, Fitness & Dieting
History
Humor & Entertainment
Law
Literature & Fiction
Medical Books
Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Parenting & Relationships
Politics & Social Sciences
Reference
Religion & Spirituality
Romance
Science & Math
Science Fiction & Fantasy
Self-Help
Sports & Outdoors
Teen & Young Adult
Travel

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War IIAuthor: Robert Kurson
Brand: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Category: Book

List Price: $16.00
Buy New: $7.48
as of 12/22/2014 15:07 EST details
You Save: $8.52 (53%)

New (41) Used (280) Collectible (5) from $0.01

Sales Rank: 9,118

Languages: English (Unknown), English (Original Language), English (Published)
Media: Paperback
Pages: 416
Number Of Items: 1
Shipping Weight (lbs): 0.7
Dimensions (in): 5.1 x 0.9 x 8

ISBN: 0375760989
EAN: 9780375760983
ASIN: 0375760989

Publication Date: May 24, 2005
Availability: Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Tell A Friend
Add to Wishlist
Add to Wedding Registry
Add to Baby Registry

Features:
  • Great product!

Editorial Reviews:

Product Description
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves.

For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.
But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.
No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at that location.

Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–former enemies of their country. As the men’s marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.

Author Robert Kurson’s account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the ocean’s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.



CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.